ASOS9 Logo

The 9th International Colloquium on

Atomic Spectra and Oscillator Strengths

for Astrophysical and Laboratory Plasmas

Lund, Sweden - August 7-10, 2007

Coming to Lund
Contact info
Lund Observatory
Department of Physics


Tuesday, 7 August

18:00 – 21:00 Early registration and reception (at conference site)

Wednesday, 8 August

8:00 Registration (at conference site)
8:45 Welcome from the SOC and LOC – conference start

Session 1: High Resolution Infrared Spectroscopy
Chairperson: Ruth Peterson

9:00 – 9:30 Nils Ryde (Uppsala Observatory)
Near-IR stellar spectroscopy for elemental abundance determinations in cool stars
9:30 – 10:00 Hampus Nilsson (Lund Observatory)
Experimental IR spectroscopy
10:00 – 10:20 Coffee Break

Session 2: Fusion and High Energy Spectroscopy - I
Chairperson: Wolfgang Wiese

10:20 – 10:50 Charles H. Skinner (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory)
Atomic Physics in the quest for fusion energy and ITER
10:50 – 11:20 Joseph Reader (NIST)
Spectral data for fusion energy: from W to W
11:20 – 11:40 Coffee Break

Session 3: Topics in Astrophysics
Chairperson: Beatriz Barbuy

11:40 – 12:10 Theodore Gull (NASA/GSFC) & Krister Nielsen (CUA/GSFC)
Eta Carina: an astrophysical laboratory
12:10 – 12:40 Manuel Bautista (Centro de Fisica-IVIC, Caracas)
Atomic processes in planetary nebulae and H II regions
12:40 – 14:15 Lunch

Session 4: Plasma Spectroscopy: Data Needs & Tools
Chairperson: James Lawler

14:15 – 14:45 Walter P. Lapatovich (Osram Sylvania)
Metal Halide Lamp Design: Atomic and Molecular Data Needed
14:45 – 15:15 Lyudmila Mashonkina (Institute for Astronomy of the Russian Academy of Sciences)
Atomic data necessary for non-LTE analysis of stellar spectra
15:15 – 15:45 Yuri Ralchenko (NIST)
Non-LTE spectroscopy for everyone: on-line tools and databases
15:45 Coffee Break

Session 5: Poster Viewing
Chairperson: Henrik Hartman

15:45 – 17:30

Bar with light dinner

20:00 – ... Pub Rydberg, Physics Department

Thursday, 9 August

Session 6: Trapped Ions
Chairperson: Roger Hutton

9:00 – 9:30 Peter Beiersdorfer (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
Atomic spectroscopy with trapped ions
9:30 – 10:00 Luis Gustavo Marcassa (University of Sao Paulo)
Measurement of Rydberg-state lifetimes using cold trapped atoms
10:00 – 10:20 Coffee Break

Session 7: Techniques of Oscillator Strength Determination
Chairperson: Donald Morton

10:20 – 10:50 Edward B. Jenkins (Princeton University Observatory)
Relative f-values from interstellar absorption lines: advantages and pitfalls
10:50 – 11:20 Richard Holt (University of Western Ontario)
Fast-ion-beam laser-fluorescence measurements of oscillator strengths in the lanthanides
11:20 – 11:40 Coffee Break

Session 8: The Spectrum of Fe II
Chairperson: David Leckrone

Ulf Litzιn will give a short introduction to the work of Sveneric Johansson
11:40 – 12:10 Sveneric Johansson (Lund Observatory)
A half-life with Fe II – tight bonds and loose ends
12:10 – 12:40 Ekaterina Verner (CUA & NASA/GSFC)
Fe II emission spectra of active galactic nuclei: observations and theoretical interpretation
12:40 – 14:15 Lunch

Session 9: Theory of Oscillator Strengths
Chairperson: Alan Hibbert

14:15 – 14:45 Charlotte Froese Fischer (Vanderbilt University & NIST)
Assessing accuracy of ab initio theoretical transition data
14:45 – 15:15 Oleg Zatsarinny (Drake University)
Systematic calculations of f-values for noble gases in B-spline basis
15:15 – 15:45 Martin Andersson (Lund University)
F-dependent lifetimes and intensity redistribution due to off-diagonal hyperfine interaction
15:45 Coffee Break & Poster Viewing

Conference Dinner

18:00 – 18:30 Grand Hotel, Lund (tentative start time)

Friday, 10 August

Session 10: Precision Spectroscopy and Fundamental Constants
Chairperson: Sven Mannervik

9:00 – 9:30 Ronald Holzwarth (Max Planck Institute)
One decade of femtosecond frequency combs: principles, applications and new ideas
9:30 – 10:00 Olivier Dulieu (Laboratoire Aime Cotton, CNRS, Campus d’Orsay)
Hot prospects for cold molecules: new routes for high resolution molecular spectroscopy and measurements of fundamental constants
10:00 – 10:20 Coffee Break

Session 11: Fusion and High Energy Spectroscopy - II
Chairperson: Joseph Reader

10:20 – 10:50 Christoph Biedermann (Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics)
Spectroscopy of highly-charged tungsten ions relevant to fusion plasmas
10:50 – 11:20 Eric Le Bigot (Kastler Brossel Lab., Paris)
Towards high-precision X-ray standard lines (3 keV to 8 keV)
11:20 – 11:40 Coffee Break

Session 12: Instrumentation for Spectroscopy
Chairperson: Steven Federman

11:40 – 12:10 James Lawler (University of Wisconsin)
A broad-band, high resolution spatial heterodyne spectrometer
12:10 – 12:40 Yaming Zou (Fudan)
Spectroscopy with the Fudan EBIT
12:40 – 14:15 Lunch

Session 13: Spectrum Analysis and Applications
Chairperson: Gillian Nave

14:15 – 14:45 Jorge Reyna Almandos (Centro de Investigaciones Opticas, La Plata)
Spectral analysis of ionized noble gases and implications to astronomy and laser studies
14:45 – 15:15 Florian Kerber (ESO, Garching)
From laboratory to the sky – Th-Ar wavelength standards for CRIRES
15:15 – 15:45 Maria Aldenius (Lund Observatory)
Laboratory wavelengths for cosmological constraints on varying fundamental constants
15:45 – 16:00 Coffee Break

Session 14: Discussion

16:00 – 16:45 Chairperson: Glenn Wahlgren
16:45 Closing Remarks

Saturday, 11 August

EXCURSION, full day (~9am to 6 pm) to visit historical places in Φsterlen and Skεne. Lunch at Glimmingehus.
The bus takes us to 'Ale Stenar', which is Sweden's largest ship setting - stones set in the layout of a ship. Here we will get a guided tour of the setting.
From here we go to the medieval fortress 'Glimmingehus', built in 1499. Here we will have lunch in the restaurant before exploring the fortress which was built as a residence for the Danish knight Jens Holgersen Ulfstand.
If time allows, we will then stop by in 'Ystad' ,a small town on the southern shore, for some strolling and shopping.
We plan to be back in Lund no later than 6 pm.
The excursion costs 400 SEK. Please note your participation by July 1.