ELSA Appointed Researchers

ELSA appoints a number of young researchers that are financed by the European Community through the network during a period of 2 years (postdocs) or 3 years (PhD students). Appointed researchers are listed below together with a short description of their research project.

Appointed postdocs:

Ummi

Dr. Ummi Abbas
INAF/Osservatorio Astronomico di Torino
Period of appointment 2008 June 5 - 2010 Aug 4.
Gaia Sphere Reconstruction
E-mail: abbas@oato.inaf.it


Alex

Dr. Alex Bombrun
Astronomische Rechen-Institut, Heidelberg
Period of appointment 2007 Sep 1 - 2009 Dec 31.
Alternative astrometric solution methods for Gaia
E-mail: abombrun@ari.uni-heidelberg.de


Paola

Dr. Paola Re Fiorentin
Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana
Period of appointment 2007 Sep 1 - 2009 Aug 31.
Classification and astrophysical parameter estimation
E-mail: re_fiorentin@oato.inaf.it


Daniel

Dr. Daniel Risquez
Leiden Observatory
Period of appointment 2008 July 1 - 2010 Aug 31.
Improved attitude modelling for Gaia
E-mail: risquez@strw.leidenuniv.nl


Michael

Dr. Michael Weiler
Paris Observatory, Section du Meudon, GEPI
Period of appointment 2007 July 1 - 2009 Aug 31.
Gaia Point-Spread Function modelling
E-mail: Michael.Weiler@obspm.fr


Appointed PhD students:

Maya

Ms. Maya Belcheva
Dep. of Astrophysics, Astronomy and Mechanics,
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
Period of appointment 2007 Oct 1 - 2010 Sep 30.
Spatial distribution of stellar populations in galaxies
E-mail: mbelcheva@phys.uoa.gr


Maria

Ms. Maria Czekaj
Departament d'Astronomia i Meteorologia, University of Barcelona
Period of appointment 2008 Sep 1 - 2010 Sep 30.
Refinement of the Universe model in the Gaia simulator
E-mail: mczekaj@am.ub.es


Aidan

Mr. Aidan Fries
Departament d'Astronomia i Meteorologia, University of Barcelona
Period of appointment 2008 Sep 9 - 2010 Sep 30.
High Performance aspects of Gaia data processing
E-mail: afries@am.ub.es


Berry

Mr. Berry Holl
Lund Observatory, Lund University
Period of appointment: 2007 Sep 1 - 2010 Aug 31.
Error characterisation of the Gaia global astrometric solution
E-mail: berry@astro.lu.se


Dagmara

Ms. Dagmara Oszkiewicz
Department of Astronomy, University of Helsinki
Period of appointment 2007 Aug 1 - 2010 July 31.
Monte Carlo methods for asteroid orbit computation
E-mail: dagmare@o2.pl


Ester

Ms. Ester Pasquato
Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Université Libre de Bruxelles
Period of appointment 2007 Oct 1 - 2010 Sep 30.
Impact of stellar brightness asymmetries on Gaia astrometry
E.mail: polewangu@gmail.com


Thibaut

Mr. Thibaut Prod'homme
Leiden Observatory
Period of appointment 2007 Sep 15 - 2010 Sep 14.
Modelling Charge-Transfer Inefficiency in Gaia CCDs
E-mail: prodhomme@strw.leidenuniv.nl


Tenay

Ms. Tenay Saguner
INAF, Astronomical Observatory of Padova
Period of appointment 2007 Oct 1 - 2010 Sep 30.
Synthetic and observed stellar spectra for Gaia
E-mail: tenay.saguner@oapd.inaf.it


Luca

Mr. Luca Santoro
Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur, Nice
Period of appointment 2008 Nov 1 - 2010 Sep 30.
Tests of new physics in stellar atmosphere code for Gaia
E.mail: luca.santoro@oca.eu


Mihaly

Mr. Mihály Váradi
Geneva Observatory
Period of appointment 2007 Oct 1 - 2010 Sep 30.
Variable stars in large photometric surveys
E.mail: mihaly.varadi@gmail.com


Past appointments:

Mr. Sebastian Alfieri
Departament d'Astronomia i Meteorologia, University of Barcelona
Period of appointment 2007 Sep 4 - 2008 May 31.


Ms. Léopoldine Brand
ESR at Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur, Nice
Period of appointment 2007 Sep 1 - 2008 Jan 31.


back to top